[visionlist] Fall Vision Meeting–Abstract Deadline September 5th

2017 FVM second call for abstracts


The 17th Annual Optical Society Vision Meeting is scheduled to take place at the Katzen Art Center at American University in Washington, DC, from the 13th to the 15th of October 2017. 



This is a reminder that the abstract submission is open:



**new**  Please note that the  abstract submission deadline has been extended to  September 5th, 2017.


The online registration is here: 


The early-bird registration deadline is September 5th, 2017. Information about registration and hotels are available on the meeting website. 

This year’s meeting includes five invited sessions, three contributed talk sessions, and a variety of contributed poster presentations. We are also pleased to announce two special events this year: Prof. Ken Nakayama from Harvard University will be presented with the 2017 Tillyer Award for distinguished work in the field of vision; and Prof. David H. Brainard from University of Pennsylvania will present the annual Boynton Lecture.


Attendees of Fall Vision can attend OSA Frontier in Optics (FiO) meeting (Sept 17-21 in DC) complimentary for one day and vice versa attendees of FiO can attend Fall Vision Meeting complimentary for one day. Details please see http://ift.tt/2tkECvF


The invited talk sessions include: (1) Applications of High Resolution Retinal Imaging (2) Myopia Development  (3) Material Perception (4) From Retina to Extra-striate cortex: Forward Models of Visual Input  (5) Lighting, Color Rendering, and Color Vision.

Besides the keynote speaker, the confirmed invited speakers includes:


Andrew Pucker, University of Alabama Birmingham

Anya Hurlbert, University of New Castle

Bei Xiao, American University

Brian Wandell, Stanford University

David Huang, Oregon Health and Science University 

David Troilo, SUNY College of Optometry

Don Miller, Indiana University

Greg Schwartz, Northwestern University

Ione Fine, University of Washington 

Kendrick Kay, University of Minnesota

Lorne Whitehead, University of British Columbia

Machelle Pardue,  Georgia Tech 

Manuel Spitschan, Stanford University

Mark Fairchild, Rochester Institute of Technology

Michael Landy, New York University

Noah Benson, New York University

Qasim Zaidi, SUNY College of Optometry

Rigmor Baraas, University of Southeast Norway

Shin’ya Nishida, NTT Japan

Stephen Burns, Indiana University


A tentative schedule and description of the invited talk sessions can be found here:



We look forward to welcoming you in Washington, DC.



The 2017 Local Organizing Committee:

Arthur Shapiro (American University)

Bei Xiao (American University) 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s