[visionlist] Data science in S&P

Hi All,
I wonder if you might have handy – or know where I could find – good raw S&P data? I am willing to take anything that I can weave into a discussion of anything in either of my two favorite S&P textbooks (Goldstein & Wolfe).

The background is that I am looking to weave a lot more working-with-data into my S&P class (planning to use R, including Shiny web apps, learnr/rmarkdown based web tutorials, maybe some server-based R Studio…so the students will have easy access to all of R’s awesome visualization and analysis capabilities). The idea here is that the students read the text chapter and examine the figure in the chapter, then they do a brief demo to get a flavor of the paradigm, then they get unleashed on the actual data…the latter builds their data skills and deepens their understanding of the text/figure.

To make this work, I need good raw data for a range of classic S&P effects (the sorts of effects that one would find in a textbook). I AM planning to have students collect data on themselves where it makes sense to do so. But there are limits to how many hours I can ask students to participate in experiments, to the sorts of experiments one can run via a web browser, and to the inferences that can be drawn from 5 minutes of data collection on each of 30 participants. So I am looking to broaden and deepen the students’ data experience beyond the (wonderful but) limited data experiences that are enabled via 5 minutes of button-pressing from 30 college student participants for the subset of paradigms that translate well onto the web!

Many thanks for any data or ideas you may have, and I am more than happy to compile and share things back with the community if we get some good responses!
Jeremy

Leave a Reply

